Education is the responsibility of the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports (MEYS). Education is the largest of the ministry's departments, which include, sport, youth, library and archives, and pre-service training (scholarships).

The Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports is Chair and secretariat of the National Advisory Committee for Children’s Rights (NACCR) and as such, they play a vital role in the implementation of the UN Recommendations of the Conventions on the Rights of the Child (CRC). They have championed, through the Education Department, the repeal of corporal punishment from the Education Act.

The Education Department manages nine primary schools and one secondary school as well as supporting 18 early childhood centres (ECCE) and one primary school and one secondary school run by faith-based organisations. Apart from the Director and auxiliary staff, the department employs six Senior Education Officers and six Education Officers in these areas: Early Childhood, Curriculum, Assessment and Examination, Supervisory and ICT.