Established in 1968, the University of the South Pacific is one of only two universities of its type in the world. It is jointly owned by the governments of 12 member countries: Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

The USP Cook Islands Campus was officially established in 1975, and the current campus buildings were opened at Takamoa in 1979 and extended in 2012.

USP is an internationally acclaimed institution with a distinctly Pacific character that promotes academic excellence, innovation and research, responsible leadership, and community service. It prepares students for lifelong success, graduating degree holders with work-ready skills and confidence. A USP education is both academically rigorous and highly rewarding; its quality has been affirmed through international accreditation processes, making the USP degree “portable” and useful for those graduates who plan to travel overseas.