The Department of Water Resources (DoWR) is part of the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources. Initially known as the Department of Geology, Mines and Water Resources, the DoWR was legally established in December 2016. The rationale behind this new department was to merge all of the water related activities across different ministries, which also highlights the Vanuatu Government’s focus on water as a priority resource.