The Mineral Resources Authority (MRA) is the government agency responsible for PNG’s mineral resources. The Authority became operational in 2006 when the former department of mining was split to form two new organisations; the MRA and the Department of Mineral Policy and Geo-hazard Management.  


The MRA has five divisions, including the Geological Survey Division (GSD) with which VSA is currently placing volunteers. This division is responsible for the acquisition, storage and dissemination of geoscience data, mostly relating to the mining industry, but importantly also incorporating geothermal resources. One of the GSD’s development programmes is to support PNG’s government effort to expand energy supply through geothermal energy exploration and development.